Congregation Beth El
   ק״ק בית אל
FRIENDLY    WELCOMING    SPIRITUAL

School Blog

honey cake 2chai mitzvah teens visit Fred
making rosh hashana cards
Sunday Funday at Beth El Religious School!
A BIG thank you to all the parents who came to help us with the Rosh Hashanah honey cake baking.
Also, a yasher koach to our Chai Mitzvah Teens whose mitzvah this week was to help lead honey cake making stations and a card making station. It was a sticky job, but they did it well! Some went with me to Brookdale Assisted Living Home to deliver to the delicious cakes to the Jewish residents. More cakes will be delivered to two other assisted living homes, and a few of our Jewish friends. We also have cake to serve everyone at BE on Rosh Hashanah!
We are proud of our BERS kids for all taking part in this wonderful mitzvah. We hope to see everyone on Rosh Hashanah. Check out our website for all the service times.
Also, meet us for Tashlich at Bull Creek on Thursday afternoon at 4PM for a casual, beautiful Tashlich service and time with friends.

Congregation Beth El Religious School BERS
Schedule of Classes for 2017 -2018

Date: Event:

*September 10 Sunday school
*September 17 Sunday school
*September 24 Sunday school

*October 8 Sunday school
Friday October 6 Family Sukkot dinner
*October 15 Sunday school
*October 22 Sunday school
*October 29 Sunday school

*November 5 Sunday school
Friday November 17 Family Friday night dinner
*November 12 Sunday school

*December 3 Sunday school
Saturday December 9 Family Shabbat morning Services
*December 10 Sunday school
*December 17 Sunday school
Sunday December 17 5 PM Hanukah party

Schedule of Classes for Spring 2018

January 1 New Year’s Day

Friday January 5 Family Friday night services and dinner
*January 14 Sunday school
*January 21 Sunday school * MLK weekend
*January 28 Sunday school

*February 4 Sunday school
*February 11 Sunday school
February 18 No Sunday school * President’s day weekend
*February 25 Sunday school

Friday March Family Friday night services and dinner
*March 4 Sunday school
March- 11-17 Spring Break
*March 18 Sunday school
*March 25 Sunday school
March 30 Erev Pesach

April 1 No Sunday school Passover
*April 8 Sunday school
*April 15 Sunday school
April 18 Wednesday – Yom Haatzmaut
*April 22 Sunday school
*April 29 Sunday school

*May 6 Sunday school and last day of semester
Saturday May 12 Family Shabbat morning services
May 13 Mother’s Day
May 20 Shavuot
May 27 Memorial Day

Have an amazing summer BERS. We had the ultimate fun last day of school with all the kids learning about Shavuot. dancing the Israeli song Saleynu and then having an absolute blast with beach balls that they each received and a lovely collage of photos that all their classmates signed.

We are so lucky to have this unbelievable year, with sweet dedicated children, talented teachers and a variety of experiences, from gardening, to special guests from Israel and so much more. Looking forward to a great 2017-2018. Please contact us at info@bethelaustin.org to register for next year.

shavuot BERS classbeach ball fun

BERS teachers 2017 B'HAnother fabulous Sunday morning at the Beth El Religious School!

Highlights from last Sunday:

*Learning about Israel and the observances of Yom Hazikkaron and Yom Ha’Atzmaut

*We talked about our moms and all the wonderful things they do and their best qualities

*Hazzan Ben-Moshe spoke about and sang a little of the blessing for a wife, Eshet Chayil, “A Woman of Valor”

*We learned a song that children in Israel sing to their moms

*The children made books and portraits for their moms

ALL our BERS MOMS are invited to join us for a little treat this coming Sunday, May 7 at 11:45am.